Learn Spanish, Most Common Spanish Words, Spanish, Spanish Common Words, Spanish textbooks, Spanish Vocabulary -

How to Say “Seasons” in Spanish

The four seasons, spring, summer, fall, and winter, can all be translated into Spanish.


The terminology for "seasons" in Spanish is "estaciones," and it refers to the four seasons of the year: spring, summer, fall, and winter. It can, however, be used more extensively to refer to any time span distinguished by different qualities or occurrences.


"Spring" in Spanish is "primavera." This season is characterized by warm weather, blooming flowers, and green leaves on trees. It typically begins in March and lasts through May.


"Summer" in Spanish is "verano." This is the warmest season of the year, with long days and plenty of sunshine. It usually lasts from June through August. Many people take vacations and enjoy outdoor activities during the summer months.


"Fall" in Spanish is "otoño." During this season, the leaves on the trees change color and fall to the ground, the days get shorter, and the weather becomes cooler. It typically begins in September and lasts through November.


"Winter" in Spanish is "invierno." This is the coldest season of the year, with short days and low temperatures. It usually lasts from December through February. Snowfall is common in many parts of the world during the winter months, and many people enjoy winter sports such as skiing and ice skating.


It's important to note that in Spanish-speaking countries, weather, customs, and cultural traditions can be widely different depending on the location. For example, in tropical countries, seasons are not defined as 4 different ones, and some words or expressions may be different.

In addition, in Spanish, it is also common to use the general term for Seasons which is "estaciones del año" (seasons of the year).


Knowing how to talk about the seasons in Spanish can be useful when discussing the weather, making travel plans, or discussing different events and activities that take place throughout the year.


As for mentioning the seasons, it is also usual to employ the verb "ser" to indicate the season, like for example: "Es primavera" (It is spring) or "Es invierno" (It is winter) (It is winter). We recommend that you look through our Spanish dictionaries.



The Spanish term for "seasons" is "estaciones," and the four seasons are "primavera" (spring), "verano" (summer), "otoo" (autumn), and "invierno" (winter) (winter). Remember that various locations and civilizations may have different ways of referring to the seasons.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published